Certificate of Bible and Theology

"Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you."
— Philippians 4:9
From AUD$30.00/mo
Flexible Choice (Monthly Subscriptions)

Academic Level

Certificate/Diploma

Duration

8-10 Months

Assessment

Yes. Certificate of Completion

Study Method

Online

Play to Preview Certificate of Bible and Theology

"This course was very informative. I enjoyed all the lectures and the teachers were through. As I learn more about the terms used in Theology it helps me to understand the history of Christianity. This course and all the lectures have given me confidence emboldened me in my evangelical walk. As I done talks with our local church I have the knowledge and understanding to share the word of God with confidence."
praying hands emoji 2
Joel Baty

Certificate of Bible and Theology Overview

Certificate of Bible and Theology is the complete introduction to the word of God. It combines the basics of understanding the Old & New Testaments with the Theology of God and the Trinity.

This qualification is the perfect starting point for a deeper appreciation of the Bible. It is a structured program of study that guides the learner through the basics of Understanding and Interpreting the Old and the New Testaments.

This certificate is an introduction to the theological concepts of the Bible. It helps the learner understand God and the Trinity. We learn who God is, the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. We also learn about humanity and our intimate relationship with God. 

Who the Certificate of Bible and Theology is for

  • The Certificate of the Bible & Theology is a foundational qualification and is designed for those who want an introductory qualification to study the Bible.
  • It is ideal for those seeking an understanding of the Old and New Testaments and how God has communicated with people in the past and continues to speak to us today.
  • The Certificate of the Bible & Theology is a foundational qualification and is suitable for those who want to build a strong foundation for deepening their understanding of who God is.
  • It is ideal for those seeking to get the big picture of God.
  • Who is seeking to answer the questions: Who is God? Who am I in God? How do I relate to God today?

What you will learn

Introduction to the Biblical Narrative

  • How to understand & communicate the Bible’s key themes, events, characters and how to apply lessons learnt in my life and ministry.

Analyse & Apply the Bible

  • How to master the features of a study Bible, to interpret what a biblical passage meant to its original audience and how to apply learnt principles to my life, family and ministry community.

Our Place in Gods Narrative

  • You will learn about the big picture – God, Us & You and finding your place in God’s Mission. God among people & affecting earth through the preaching of the kingdom. You will be challenged to be involved in the Plan, not just on-lookers.

Theology of God

  • How to grasp the true nature of God revealed in the Father, Jesus & the Holy Spirit. You will also learn how to assess personal needs and grow in the gifts and fruit of the Spirit

Theology of Humanity

  • Personal insights into the nature of humanity, how God created us to be in a perfect condition and the impact of the sin on the human condition. You will develop insights into humanity as it applies to your life, family, and ministry community. You will learn what the Bible, theology and church history says about the human condition. Discuss the implications for the nature of humanity and ministry today as outlined in the Scriptures.

Theology: Ministry in the Spirit

  • How to discern insights, revelations and promptings given by the Holy Spirit and when they are for private edification or the edification of others. You will grow in the expressions of gifts and fruit of the Holy Spirit and when to act on promptings of the Holy Spirit in accordance with the biblical guidelines.

Included Courses

Play Course Preview Introduction to the Biblical Narrative

This course presents a ‘bird’s eye view’ of the Bible as one story. Each teaching is aimed at equipping learners with the skills and knowledge required to evaluate, communicate and apply the biblical narrative to a specific contemporary ministry context.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Seeing the Bible as One Story
  3. Orientation/Creation
  4. The Plot: Solution: The Patriarchal Narratives
  5. YHWH is crowned Israel’s King
  6. The Former Prophets: from Conquest to Exile
  7. The Ups & Downs of Samuel
  8. The Latter Prophets: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel & Twelve
  9. Jeremiah: The Weeping Prophet
  10. The Writings
  11. Lamentations: the Shedding of Righteous Blood
  12. Who is Jesus?
  13. The Crescendo of Jesus
  14. The New Covenant
  15. Epistles: New Covenant Prophets
  16. Good Deeds are Essential
  17. The Hope of Resurrection

About your instructor

Matthew Jarlett 150 x 150 opt

Matthew Jarlett

Following the completion of his Bachelor of Arts (Biblical Studies), Matthew assumed the Vocational Education Course Supervisor role with Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 780 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good13%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

The Divine Division of the Holy Scripture

2023-02-05

This course has thrown more light on how the various books of the Bible were composed. And how they speak distinctively to every generation on the programming of God for humanity and the world.

Daniel Ampong Antwi
Avatar for Daniel Ampong Antwi
Verified

Wow

2023-02-04

Now scripture has come alive. Now It all makes sense. Now I better understanding.

Thank you so much

N. Mary Linda B.
Avatar for N. Mary Linda B.
Verified

New Beginnings

2023-02-04

Always wanted to learn more, yet I started but could never finish any biblical studies. Upon discovering AXX. I become glued to Matt Jarlett way of minister the Gospel. First time I could finish video footage listen to someone for the duration of the minutes without getting into a stagnation mode. Throughout it becomes a WOW or a smile due to new Revelation i never heard before. Jared calmness has put me at ease and open the ears of my heart to listen to him. To God be the Glory Amen.

Hans John Bercat
Avatar for Hans John Bercat
Verified

Play Course Preview Analyse & Apply the Bible

This series of lessons is designed to equip students with the skills and knowledge required to utilise the features of a study Bible, as well as historical and cultural analysis to compose an accurate application of a biblical passage.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction to Interpretation
  3. Introduction to Study Bibles
  4. A Pattern for Application
  5. Look for Clues
  6. Original Audience & Historical Context
  7. Researching Historical Context
  8. Genre Pitfalls (Part 1)
  9. Genre Pitfalls (Part 2)
  10. Literary Context
  11. Observation
  12. From Analysis to Meaning
  13. But we are different… aren’t we?
  14. Meaning to Application
  15. Summary & Example

About your instructor

Andrew Groza 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Andrew Groza

Andrew is an experienced Pastor with a demonstrated history of working in the e-learning industry. Skilled in non-profit organizations, E-Learning, coaching, organizational development, and instructional design. Andrew holds a Master of Arts in Ministry from Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 645 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good12%
Average1%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Observing helps one to take right decision

2023-02-05

In this course i learned that i observation is applied it will help one to take the right decisions. It is like when driving a car we need always be observant to other road users especially when changing lanes we need to observe whether it is clear and safe to do so. Similarly with the word of God we need to observe in order to apply correct principle of interpretation.

I also learned the triangle of God at the top, original audience on the left, and us todayand the application for contemporary audience .

TJ Lechesa
Avatar for TJ Lechesa
Verified

Testimonials

2023-02-04

I learned alot and I’m grateful

Fiakmenyi Brian fonkika
Avatar for Fiakmenyi Brian fonkika
Verified

Am very excited

2023-02-04

I thank God for giving this opportunity to know more about the words of God

Timothy kolawole okunola
Avatar for Timothy kolawole okunola
Verified

Play Preview Course Theology - Ministry in the Spirit

The lessons in this series are presented by a number of experienced ministry leaders, with the emphasis on the Holy Spirit – who He is and what He loves to do, the Spirit’s work with and through believers, and Holy Spirit empowered outreach.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction to Course
  3. The Spirit the Life-Giver
  4. The Person of the Holy Spirit
  5. Holy Spirit Baptism
  6. Relating to the Holy Spirit
  7. The Work of the Spirit
  8. Community of the Spirit
  9. The Gifts of the Spirit
  10. Experiences of the Holy Spirit at Work
  11. The Fruit of the Spirit (1)
  12. The Fruit of the Spirit (2)
  13. Jesus & Ministry of the Holy Spirit
  14. What Does Ministry in the Spirit Look Like?
  15. When Prayer Doesn’t Work
  16. Evangelism in the Gospel: Jesus
  17. Evangelism with Paul & the Apostles
  18. The Breath of the Gospel
  19. Different Approaches to Evangelism
  20. Sharing Your Testimony
  21. The Missional Discussion
  22. Talking to Non-Christians
  23. Spirit Led Ministry
  24. Discipleship & Follow Up
  25. Following People Up
  26. Developing an Understanding of the History of the Holy Spirit

About your instructor

Tex Houston 150 x 150 opt

Tex Houston

Tex (Gary) became a successful pub musician in 1980’s, from there began working with large church & community organisations in media and music production. He has travelled to many places in the world, usually with a video camera and tripod, either doing documentaries on Australians working in other lands, or filming his own works on Anzac history in the First World War. In addition to being an avid steam engine enthusiast with YouTube channel ‘symphony of steam’, Tex is an authority on Christian worship.

Matthew Jarlett 150 x 150 opt

Matthew Jarlett

Following the completion of his Bachelor of Arts (Biblical Studies), Matthew assumed the Vocational Education Course Supervisor role with Harvest Bible College.

Course reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 41 reviews)
Excellent90%
Very good7%
Average0%
Poor3%
Terrible0%

Spiritual

2022-05-19

Have shared with another Christian who suggested to run a get to know the bible. I’ve taken a step in faith sharing once a week to group of five . Praise the lord.

GREGORY Rayment-Sang
Avatar for GREGORY Rayment-Sang
Verified

Gifts and fruit of the Holy Spirit

2022-02-23

Excellent well explained Jeremy

Tsungai Chigondo
Avatar for Tsungai Chigondo
Verified

Theology- Ministry in the Spirit

2022-02-02

The course has been very thrilling and inspiring. I have acquired an understanding of the holy spirit as to when to demonstrate the gifts and the fruit of the spirit.

I have got a more/significant insight of the holy spirit with respect to ministry and church planting . To God be the glory.

Ebot Constantine Bessong
Avatar for Ebot Constantine Bessong
Verified

Play Course Preview Our Place in God’s Narrative Axx

This course is designed to equip learners with the skills and knowledge to evaluate contemporary ministry practices and develop a ministry plan based on theologies of mission and church.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction – God, Us & You
  3. What Mission is not/What Mission is
  4. Creation, Covenant, Consummation – God’s Rule
  5. The Missio Dei through Israel
  6. The Missio Dei through Christ
  7. The Missio Dei through the Church
  8. Culture (1) God’s mission is within cultures
  9. Culture (2) National & Local. Being effective WITHIN a culture
  10. Contextualisation – 3 step model
  11. Proclamation – What is the Gospel?
  12. WHO – What on earth is the church?
  13. WHAT – What does the church do?
  14. HOW – The charismatic community. Tongues/baptism/healing
  15. Being Christ-like, Love, God’s community
  16. Our life together. Part 1. Authority, leadership & Governance.
  17. Our life together. Part 2. Structure & order in community
  18. The Church in History Part 1 – Roman Catholic church
  19. The Church in History Part 2 – Reformation/revivals/Pentecost
  20. The Church in History Part 3 – Sacred Space
  21. YOU – From our to my
  22. YOU – internal – A faithful witness
  23. In the School of Christ – We are a student
  24. Church in the Public Sphere (Sermon on the Mount)
  25. What now? Thoughts about moving forward

About your instructor

Andrew Groza 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Andrew Groza

Andrew is an experienced Pastor with a demonstrated history of working in the e-learning industry. Skilled in non-profit organizations, E-Learning, coaching, organizational development, and instructional design. Andrew holds a Master of Arts in Ministry from Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 16 reviews)
Excellent75%
Very good25%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Faithful witness - yielded, surrendered and in sinc with our God

2021-11-02

I enjoyed hearing the commentary on the History – how the mission of God has been out working throughout His timeline. To also consider what that looks like for HIs people in this post Covid 19 world. Being positioned to have a listening ear that allows Holy Spirit to renew our minds, strengthen and prepare us to receive His blueprint and strategy that will direct our steps for the new era we have entered into. A faithful witness with a heart always positioned to learn from His perspective. Yielded and surrendered to Holy Spirit – being willing to move as He moves, truly in sinc and as one with Him.

Stacey
Avatar for Stacey
Verified

Excellent presentation and contend

2021-10-27

Excellent. I especially enjoyed and got a lot out of going through the church in history section which helped me understand the Bible in a better way.

Ben
Avatar for Ben
Verified

Greater Understanding of OUR place in God's Narrative

2021-10-14

I loved the way that the course took me to a place where I could associate with the original audience & how it related to me and my place in this current day.

John
Avatar for John
Verified

Preview Theology of God Course

This course introduces the theology of God, as you explore the relevance of theology, the Trinity in the Old and New Testament, the Person and Work of Christ and the Holy Spirit, as well as the gifts and fruits of the Spirit.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction & Relevance
  3. Talking Theology
  4. Introducing the Trinity
  5. Trinity in the Old Testament
  6. Trinity in the New Testament
  7. God as Trinity
  8. Trinity as Community
  9. Historical Misconceptions
  10. God the Father
  11. God the Son
  12. God the Holy Spirit
  13. Trinity Together
  14. The Work of Christ
  15. The Work of the Holy Spirit
  16. Gifts & Fruit of the Spirit

About your instructor

DJ Konz 150 x 150 opt

Dr DJ Konz

DJ is Associate Dean of the Faculty of Theology, and Head of the Theology Department, at Alphacrucis College. DJ comes from a background in the Christian Non-Profit sector, most recently as the Executive Director of Advocacy at Compassion Australia. He wrote his doctoral dissertation at the University of Aberdeen on the child in the thought of Karl Barth, and his wider teaching and research areas include systematic and historical theology (especially Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer), as well as mission theology, public and political theology, and child theology. He is the co-editor of Theology, Mission and Child: Global Perspectives (Oxford: Regnum, 2014) and has published various book chapters and journal articles.

Jeremy Weetman 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Jeremy Weetman

Jeremy has been in pastoral ministry for over twenty years. He and his wife plated the church they lead on the Gold Coast (Australia), Eikon Community, in 2006 and transitioned the congregation into a missional expression of church. He has served on various denominational committees and has been teaching in bible colleges since 2011. He is studying towards his Doctor of Ministry and is interested in sacred space and contemporary spirituality.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 424 reviews)
Excellent92%
Very good8%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Personal testmony

2023-01-30

Before I started this training in relation to how Iam currently,I feel I have made a big step in spiritual development.

I have been encouraged to read the bible and discover more things especially when I am looking for those scriptures given in the teachings.I have got more facts about the nature of God and this has helped me to continue serving Him in a more clarified way,It has widened my biblical knowledge to help me as I do my preachings.I hope by the end of the course,I will have achieved much and properly tuned to become a real servant of God.Thank you very much.

Mukiza Benard Kanyabukye
Avatar for Mukiza Benard Kanyabukye
Verified

The Trinity

2023-01-30

I have fully learn that God is one manifesting in three aways but all the Father can the Son and the Holy Spirit can. The Holy Spirit is not lower than the Father and the Son, they are all united and doing the same work we see the Son introducing Himself as the Father and the Spirit as well.

Duncan Sena
Avatar for Duncan Sena
Verified

Trinity

2023-01-28

Theology is study God’s character so we need to know what is God’s character to show people they are in the world, they need to see GOD / JESUS in our life.

We need to be sure that our action is as God’s action for humanity as a missionary.

And for this all we need to know GOD FATHER, SON,AND HOLY SPIRIT.

How God father was doing thing’s and how God Son and Holy spirit. But to know they are one GOD.

Amanuel Hailemariam Asfaw
Avatar for Amanuel Hailemariam Asfaw
Verified

Play Course Preview Theology of Humanity

In this course, you’ll learn some of what the Bible has to say about humanity. Unpack topics like the “image of God”, God’s response to sin, the humanity of God, suffering and forgiveness, sexuality, women in ministry and the environment.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. The Image of God
  3. A Broken & Damaged Image
  4. The Human Response to Sin
  5. God’s Response to Sin
  6. The Humanity of God
  7. God & Freedom
  8. Suffering & Forgiveness
  9. Unity
  10. Theology to Application
  11. Trinity & Family
  12. God & Sexuality
  13. God & Gendered Language
  14. Women in Ministry
  15. Church & Ethnicity
  16. Church & the Environment
  17. Trinity & the Poor

About your instructor

Jeremy Weetman 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Jeremy Weetman

Jeremy has been in pastoral ministry for over twenty years. He and his wife plated the church they lead on the Gold Coast (Australia), Eikon Community, in 2006 and transitioned the congregation into a missional expression of church. He has served on various denominational committees and has been teaching in bible colleges since 2011. He is studying towards his Doctor of Ministry and is interested in sacred space and contemporary spirituality.

Course Reviews

4.7
Rated 4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 21 reviews)
Excellent76%
Very good14%
Average10%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

GOD loves me in all circumstances , he wants a pure ,honest heart which looks up to the LORD alone.

2021-11-15

GOD reveals himself in his scripture , and he created me in his liking so that I worship him with all my heart ,in truth and in spirit . He looks at the inner person , he wants all of us to be in relation with his creation and love one another all days of our life.

I have learnt in my heart to be honest steward of his creation and i now live ethically , giving to GOD for the poor needy servants of GOD in society so help me GOD .

We are equal before GOD in JESUS CHRIST men ,women ,children ,and all ethnicity even the HOLY SPIRIT was poured for all in ACTS 2 so there is no one above the other in the Christian Church.

CHARLES CHIGONDO
Avatar for CHARLES CHIGONDO
Verified

The Practicality of Being God's Image Bearers in this World

2021-11-02

The theme of being God’s ‘image bearers’ was presented in a very practical manner.

So often as the body of Christ we focus on how we differ from one denomination to another (and who is right or wrong). I personally believe this does more damage than good as we minister to non-believers. The comparison and urge to change our perspective from a ‘bounded set’ to a ‘centered set’ by focussing as the church on what unites us vs what differs us was refreshing.

I found the God Gendered Language presentation very insightful.

Thank you to all the presenters and teachers in the Certificate of Theology.

Elizabeth Torres-Russell
Avatar for Elizabeth Torres-Russell
Verified

Unity Under One God

2021-10-26

Theology of Humanity took on you on a historic overview of our response to God and his teachings. Following the various Christian movements, the presenter mirrored the Fruit of the Spirit beautifully, raising areas of disagreement between doctrines but concluding that a meeting ground can be found when we recognize the unity of a shared focus on one God (Father/Son/Holy Spirit). I was particularly impressed with how the speaker dealt with suffering and forgiveness. Like Job, theories may abound but all we have to work with is a snapshot in time , only God holds the full picture.

Michele Johnson
Avatar for Michele Johnson
Verified

Certificate of Bible and Theology Enrolment Options

Monthly Subscription

$AUD 30 / mo
  • 6 Specifically Designed Courses
  • Access with an active subscription
  • Life-changing Bible and Theology
  • 103 Lessons
Best Value

Upfront Payment

$AUD 225
  • 6 Specifically Designed Courses
  • Lifetime access to all resources
  • Life-changing Bible and Theology
  • 103 Lessons

Certificate of Bible and Theology Snapshot

  • 6 specifically designed courses
  • 103 lessons
  • 31 hours on-demand video
  • Certification
  • Full lifetime access
  • Access on computer, mobile devices and TV
  • All learning resources, handouts and E-library at no extra cost
  • Personalised Certified Certificate of Completion

Certificate of Bible and Theology Reviews

5.0
5 out of 5 stars (based on 12 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Bible and Theology . Enjoying learning more about the study of the Bible

2021-06-21

This course was very informative. I enjoyed all the lectures and the teachers were through. As I learn more about the terms used in Theology it helps me to understand the history of Christianity. This course and all the lectures have given me confidence emboldened me in my evangelical walk. As I done talks with our local church I have the knowledge and understanding to share the word of God with confidence.

Joel A Baty
Avatar for Joel A Baty
Verified

This course is a blessing and introduces the great mysteries of the Christian faith.

2021-05-23

This is a highly insightful and well presented course. There are concepts such as the Trinity (IE Jesus being both fully human and fully Divine) that I have for decades not only struggled with, I have really not understood very well. This is not to say that I understand the concept of the Trinity now, but I believe I at least better appreciate the scriptural basis for the teachings of the Trinity. This has been a great help for me personally. Where once I used to reject the Trinity, I can now honestly say, I don’t know. I don’t know not from ignorance, because the Axx was fantastic in explaining, but rather I don’t know, because I cannot really fathom it. That is my failing. Other aspects of the Biblical Narrative and God plan were brilliant. Thank you. The techniques on how to apply and analyze the Bible were deeply logical and widened my view of Biblical scripture. And the teachings of the Holy Spirit and how the Spirit enriches our lives was a blessing. Thank you.

Lenny
Avatar for Lenny
Verified

Axx Bible College has increased my knowledge of Christianity and the scriptures

2021-05-23

Lenny Bielski
Avatar for Lenny Bielski
Verified

Certificate of Bible and Theology Requirements

  • Certificate of Bible and Theology qualification only requires a desire to learn about the introductory concepts of the Bible, and how I fit into the plans and purposes of God
  • This certificate only requires a desire to learn about the introductory concepts of the Theology (God), and who God is and why I exist
  • A love of God and the Word
  • Learners are welcome to commence this qualification at any time
  • A computer, tablet or smartphone is required
  • No additional software is required
  • Internet connection is required
  • Lessons are presented in English

All assessment tasks must be completed to be certified

  • Learners are required to complete all video lessons
  • Each lesson has a short multiple choice quiz
  • There are no essays to be written in this qualification
Scroll to Top

Did you Know?

  • There are 2,500,000 Untrained Pastors in the World Today. 
  • Every Axx Purchase and Donation is used to Provide Free Bible College Training for Pastors Living in Poverty or under Persecution.
  • Axx’s Mission is to Provide these Pastors with Free High-Quality Bible College.