Certificate of Bible and Theology

"Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you."
— Philippians 4:9
From AUD$30.00/mo
Flexible Choice (Monthly Subscriptions)

Academic Level

Certificate/Diploma

Duration

8-10 Months

Assessment

Yes. Certificate of Completion

Study Method

Online

Play to Preview Certificate of Bible and Theology

"This course was very informative. I enjoyed all the lectures and the teachers were through. As I learn more about the terms used in Theology it helps me to understand the history of Christianity. This course and all the lectures have given me confidence emboldened me in my evangelical walk. As I done talks with our local church I have the knowledge and understanding to share the word of God with confidence."
praying hands emoji 2
Joel Baty

Certificate of Bible and Theology Overview

Certificate of Bible and Theology is the complete introduction to the word of God. It combines the basics of understanding the Old & New Testaments with the Theology of God and the Trinity.

This qualification is the perfect starting point for a deeper appreciation of the Bible. It is a structured program of study that guides the learner through the basics of Understanding and Interpreting the Old and the New Testaments.

This certificate is an introduction to the theological concepts of the Bible. It helps the learner understand God and the Trinity. We learn who God is, the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. We also learn about humanity and our intimate relationship with God. 

Who the Certificate of Bible and Theology is for

  • The Certificate of the Bible & Theology is a foundational qualification and is designed for those who want an introductory qualification to study the Bible.
  • It is ideal for those seeking an understanding of the Old and New Testaments and how God has communicated with people in the past and continues to speak to us today.
  • The Certificate of the Bible & Theology is a foundational qualification and is suitable for those who want to build a strong foundation for deepening their understanding of who God is.
  • It is ideal for those seeking to get the big picture of God.
  • Who is seeking to answer the questions: Who is God? Who am I in God? How do I relate to God today?

What you will learn

Introduction to the Biblical Narrative

  • How to understand & communicate the Bible’s key themes, events, characters and how to apply lessons learnt in my life and ministry.

Analyse & Apply the Bible

  • How to master the features of a study Bible, to interpret what a biblical passage meant to its original audience and how to apply learnt principles to my life, family and ministry community.

Our Place in Gods Narrative

  • You will learn about the big picture – God, Us & You and finding your place in God’s Mission. God among people & affecting earth through the preaching of the kingdom. You will be challenged to be involved in the Plan, not just on-lookers.

Theology of God

  • How to grasp the true nature of God revealed in the Father, Jesus & the Holy Spirit. You will also learn how to assess personal needs and grow in the gifts and fruit of the Spirit

Theology of Humanity

  • Personal insights into the nature of humanity, how God created us to be in a perfect condition and the impact of the sin on the human condition. You will develop insights into humanity as it applies to your life, family, and ministry community. You will learn what the Bible, theology and church history says about the human condition. Discuss the implications for the nature of humanity and ministry today as outlined in the Scriptures.

Theology: Ministry in the Spirit

  • How to discern insights, revelations and promptings given by the Holy Spirit and when they are for private edification or the edification of others. You will grow in the expressions of gifts and fruit of the Holy Spirit and when to act on promptings of the Holy Spirit in accordance with the biblical guidelines.

Included Courses

Play Course Preview Introduction to the Biblical Narrative

This course presents a ‘bird’s eye view’ of the Bible as one story. Each teaching is aimed at equipping learners with the skills and knowledge required to evaluate, communicate and apply the biblical narrative to a specific contemporary ministry context.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Seeing the Bible as One Story
  3. Orientation/Creation
  4. The Plot: Solution: The Patriarchal Narratives
  5. YHWH is crowned Israel’s King
  6. The Former Prophets: from Conquest to Exile
  7. The Ups & Downs of Samuel
  8. The Latter Prophets: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel & Twelve
  9. Jeremiah: The Weeping Prophet
  10. The Writings
  11. Lamentations: the Shedding of Righteous Blood
  12. Who is Jesus?
  13. The Crescendo of Jesus
  14. The New Covenant
  15. Epistles: New Covenant Prophets
  16. Good Deeds are Essential
  17. The Hope of Resurrection

About your instructor

Matthew Jarlett 150 x 150 opt

Matthew Jarlett

Following the completion of his Bachelor of Arts (Biblical Studies), Matthew assumed the Vocational Education Course Supervisor role with Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 780 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good13%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Axx

2023-02-02

What a wonderful time knowing new things

Thomas zvarimwa
Avatar for Thomas zvarimwa
Verified

Axx you helped me a lot

2023-02-02

I’m growing everyday knowing more about the word of God

Thomas zvarimwa
Avatar for Thomas zvarimwa
Verified

My learning expience

2023-02-01

My learning experience at AXX Bible College is phenomenal. I enjoy every moment of my study and believe that i will learn more about the word of God. I also wish to thank the college and the Management for giving me this opportunity to study, as here in Africa most of us didn’t have the opportunity to study at the Bible college because of lack of funds. The thought often occurs to me that God is indeed good to permit us to be workers together and yet He depend on us for the growth of His kingdom throughout the earth.

Thank you once again,

Yours in Christ.

Joshua Lechesa

Johannesburg -South Africa

TJ Lechesa
Avatar for TJ Lechesa
Verified

Play Course Preview Analyse & Apply the Bible

This series of lessons is designed to equip students with the skills and knowledge required to utilise the features of a study Bible, as well as historical and cultural analysis to compose an accurate application of a biblical passage.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction to Interpretation
  3. Introduction to Study Bibles
  4. A Pattern for Application
  5. Look for Clues
  6. Original Audience & Historical Context
  7. Researching Historical Context
  8. Genre Pitfalls (Part 1)
  9. Genre Pitfalls (Part 2)
  10. Literary Context
  11. Observation
  12. From Analysis to Meaning
  13. But we are different… aren’t we?
  14. Meaning to Application
  15. Summary & Example

About your instructor

Andrew Groza 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Andrew Groza

Andrew is an experienced Pastor with a demonstrated history of working in the e-learning industry. Skilled in non-profit organizations, E-Learning, coaching, organizational development, and instructional design. Andrew holds a Master of Arts in Ministry from Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 645 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good12%
Average1%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Biblical understanding

2023-01-26

I learned to understand the Bible , how to apply itand how to explain it .

Kwanele Mpama
Avatar for Kwanele Mpama
Verified

APPLYING THE CONTEXT IN LIFE

2023-01-22

I realized that sometimes we learn to know and not apply what we know in our daily lives. All the truth that we learn in the bible for the people of the past are affecting our lives, because principles don’t change. My testimony in this lecture is that I need to apply it on my life matters most. It teaches the power of understanding the principles. Living in our time may differ from the time of the bible times however there are things we learn from them that are still situation today. My testimony is that God does not change with times He changes times.

Okame Titus
Avatar for Okame Titus
Verified

Analyse & Apply the bible

2023-01-22

‘The teachings I have received has really impacted my knowledge and understanding. This will bring positive changes to my ministry. May God continue to bless axx bible college’.

David Sikazwe
Avatar for David Sikazwe
Verified

Play Preview Course Theology - Ministry in the Spirit

The lessons in this series are presented by a number of experienced ministry leaders, with the emphasis on the Holy Spirit – who He is and what He loves to do, the Spirit’s work with and through believers, and Holy Spirit empowered outreach.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction to Course
  3. The Spirit the Life-Giver
  4. The Person of the Holy Spirit
  5. Holy Spirit Baptism
  6. Relating to the Holy Spirit
  7. The Work of the Spirit
  8. Community of the Spirit
  9. The Gifts of the Spirit
  10. Experiences of the Holy Spirit at Work
  11. The Fruit of the Spirit (1)
  12. The Fruit of the Spirit (2)
  13. Jesus & Ministry of the Holy Spirit
  14. What Does Ministry in the Spirit Look Like?
  15. When Prayer Doesn’t Work
  16. Evangelism in the Gospel: Jesus
  17. Evangelism with Paul & the Apostles
  18. The Breath of the Gospel
  19. Different Approaches to Evangelism
  20. Sharing Your Testimony
  21. The Missional Discussion
  22. Talking to Non-Christians
  23. Spirit Led Ministry
  24. Discipleship & Follow Up
  25. Following People Up
  26. Developing an Understanding of the History of the Holy Spirit

About your instructor

Tex Houston 150 x 150 opt

Tex Houston

Tex (Gary) became a successful pub musician in 1980’s, from there began working with large church & community organisations in media and music production. He has travelled to many places in the world, usually with a video camera and tripod, either doing documentaries on Australians working in other lands, or filming his own works on Anzac history in the First World War. In addition to being an avid steam engine enthusiast with YouTube channel ‘symphony of steam’, Tex is an authority on Christian worship.

Matthew Jarlett 150 x 150 opt

Matthew Jarlett

Following the completion of his Bachelor of Arts (Biblical Studies), Matthew assumed the Vocational Education Course Supervisor role with Harvest Bible College.

Course reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 41 reviews)
Excellent90%
Very good7%
Average0%
Poor3%
Terrible0%

The Holy Spirit & Spirit-led Evangelism

2021-10-26

I initially found Ministry of the Holy spirit quite a challenging unit, given the amount of information that was shared on the character and works of the Holy Spirit. I particularly enjoyed the way this led into spirit-led evangelism and discernment. The variety of speakers added colour to a very big topic and overall I felt this created a good balance between gospel teaching and real life experiences of sharing the gospel. Having been asked to share my testimony in November, I will definitely be apply the ‘3 minute’ rule.

Michele Johnson
Avatar for Michele Johnson
Verified

My Testomony and experiances encountered

2021-10-24

I’ve enjoyed this Module on the Holy Spirit. It has reinforced where I have stood in my understanding of the Person and work of the Holy Spririt.

From the time of creation through to the present time.

It’s one thing to know it all. But it’s another to experiance it in our daily living.

My Testimony is this

There has been a desire and hunger over a good number of years not only to draw closer to my Lord but to operate in the power of the Holy Spirit.

To see His Kingdom manifested in Love, Truth and power.

But I have to confess that there has been a couple of areas that has been holding me back.

1/ The willingness to truly die to self. I thought I was living the crucified life. But the Holy Sprit revealed to me that I was a hypocrite. That I was more

concerened about the cares of this world than I was about His Kingdom. That came as a bit of a shock and has taken me awhile to work my way through it.

But I praise God for his grace and mercy as Philippians 2:13 says “For it is God who worketh in you both to Will and to Do of His good pleasure”.

2/ The other thing that has held me back and I’m thakfull that the session on the “Contemporary Landscape” had touched on this. That is the “Excesses, Performance and Packaging” of the church. Pushing more on the gifts and less on the fruit, They have gone away from the message of the Cross to another gospel that’s not offenssive. “Another Jesus”. Even some of the evangelical church’s have gone the softer less offensive track.

Through our Business that we had at the time, I have met many who have been hurt and disillutioned with the chuch. Even an ex AOG pastor who left the ministry because of all that has been going. (I’ve enjoyed good fellowship with him). Many have been pushed out of chuch’s because they tried to bring correction to the pastor and leadership. We’ve been forwarned in Scripture where people will get “Ichy ears” and leave the truth. A lot of this has brought damage and disrepute in the wider community.

I know not all church’s have gone down that path. But it’s hard to find a good that has good solid teaching and allowing and encouraging the manefestation of the Fruit and Gifts of the Holy Spirit.

Despite all of whats going on in the church, let alone in the world, I need to be salt and light where the Lord has placed me.

I’m thankfull through out the Module the emphasis has been on the Holy Spirit doing the work through a Surrendered and Sanctified people. Who are willing to wait on Him, hear from Him and move with Him and have fellowship with Him.

I’m deeply concious that time is running out and want to be available to do what ever the Holy Spirit wants me to do.

I know the Lord has been dealing with me and bringing me to that place where he wants me to be.

The examples, Tips and warnings in the Module have been good and helpfull.

The module has helped pull together lose ends and has helped to spur me on.

I’ve been going through Philippians in my quiet time. Through out the book Paul is encouraging us to look at the example of Christ, to count all things as loss, to know the Crucified Christ and His resurrected power in us, the fellowship of His suffering, to press onto the Prize-“The High Calling of God in Christ Jesus”. To be content in living the life that honours Him.

Thanks again.

John

John Wilcox
Avatar for John Wilcox
Verified

Journeying with Theology-Ministry in the Spirit

2021-10-22

Journeying with Theology-Ministry in the Spirit has both re-affirmed and expanded my faith and understanding of the gospel and my role in ministry. I enjoyed the variety of speakers and the topics covered were both foundational and relevant to today’s challenges. The tools and personal insights into testimonies and evangelizing was a surprising and welcome addition. These are areas I feel particularly drawn to, to the extent that I am hampered by the fear of ‘not getting it right’ not so much for my sake but for the salvation of others. Your presentation has calmed my soul and bought about a clearer understanding of my role, which is to be prompted and guided by the holy spirit. Thank you all.

Michele Johnson
Avatar for Michele Johnson
Verified

Play Course Preview Our Place in God’s Narrative Axx

This course is designed to equip learners with the skills and knowledge to evaluate contemporary ministry practices and develop a ministry plan based on theologies of mission and church.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction – God, Us & You
  3. What Mission is not/What Mission is
  4. Creation, Covenant, Consummation – God’s Rule
  5. The Missio Dei through Israel
  6. The Missio Dei through Christ
  7. The Missio Dei through the Church
  8. Culture (1) God’s mission is within cultures
  9. Culture (2) National & Local. Being effective WITHIN a culture
  10. Contextualisation – 3 step model
  11. Proclamation – What is the Gospel?
  12. WHO – What on earth is the church?
  13. WHAT – What does the church do?
  14. HOW – The charismatic community. Tongues/baptism/healing
  15. Being Christ-like, Love, God’s community
  16. Our life together. Part 1. Authority, leadership & Governance.
  17. Our life together. Part 2. Structure & order in community
  18. The Church in History Part 1 – Roman Catholic church
  19. The Church in History Part 2 – Reformation/revivals/Pentecost
  20. The Church in History Part 3 – Sacred Space
  21. YOU – From our to my
  22. YOU – internal – A faithful witness
  23. In the School of Christ – We are a student
  24. Church in the Public Sphere (Sermon on the Mount)
  25. What now? Thoughts about moving forward

About your instructor

Andrew Groza 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Andrew Groza

Andrew is an experienced Pastor with a demonstrated history of working in the e-learning industry. Skilled in non-profit organizations, E-Learning, coaching, organizational development, and instructional design. Andrew holds a Master of Arts in Ministry from Harvest Bible College.

Course Reviews

4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 16 reviews)
Excellent75%
Very good25%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.

Preview Theology of God Course

This course introduces the theology of God, as you explore the relevance of theology, the Trinity in the Old and New Testament, the Person and Work of Christ and the Holy Spirit, as well as the gifts and fruits of the Spirit.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. Introduction & Relevance
  3. Talking Theology
  4. Introducing the Trinity
  5. Trinity in the Old Testament
  6. Trinity in the New Testament
  7. God as Trinity
  8. Trinity as Community
  9. Historical Misconceptions
  10. God the Father
  11. God the Son
  12. God the Holy Spirit
  13. Trinity Together
  14. The Work of Christ
  15. The Work of the Holy Spirit
  16. Gifts & Fruit of the Spirit

About your instructor

DJ Konz 150 x 150 opt

Dr DJ Konz

DJ is Associate Dean of the Faculty of Theology, and Head of the Theology Department, at Alphacrucis College. DJ comes from a background in the Christian Non-Profit sector, most recently as the Executive Director of Advocacy at Compassion Australia. He wrote his doctoral dissertation at the University of Aberdeen on the child in the thought of Karl Barth, and his wider teaching and research areas include systematic and historical theology (especially Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer), as well as mission theology, public and political theology, and child theology. He is the co-editor of Theology, Mission and Child: Global Perspectives (Oxford: Regnum, 2014) and has published various book chapters and journal articles.

Jeremy Weetman 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Jeremy Weetman

Jeremy has been in pastoral ministry for over twenty years. He and his wife plated the church they lead on the Gold Coast (Australia), Eikon Community, in 2006 and transitioned the congregation into a missional expression of church. He has served on various denominational committees and has been teaching in bible colleges since 2011. He is studying towards his Doctor of Ministry and is interested in sacred space and contemporary spirituality.

Course Reviews

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 424 reviews)
Excellent92%
Very good8%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

SPIRITUAL GROWTH

2023-01-15

I thank God.I thank my able teachers who are growing spiritual seeds in me.

I find it fascinating learning lessons in Axx,it makes me yearn for the next lessons.

Recently,towards the end of last year,I had an external force that weakened me spiritually.I was not able to continue with my Axx training.I was completely down.

Quickly,I realised the peace,hope and strength that I had when learning at Axx.I picked up strength by the power of the Holy Spirit and now comfortably

Continuing with my studies even upto late midnight without being weary.Axx is source of strength to believers,

spiritual growth and has become my power house of building my faith and confidence in spreading the good news of our glorious Father in heaven.Now I feel comfortable to share word of God anywhere and in our church.I look forward to finish my course and even move beyond through the help and guidance of the Holy Spirit.

God bless Axx and bless my teachers.

Amen.

Anthony Ruto Kiplimo
Avatar for Anthony Ruto Kiplimo
Verified

Source of my strength

2023-01-15

I first thank God for Axx.I find it interesting while interacting with my great teachers,

men of our Lord.It’s fascinating lessons,

topics and sub-topics making me yearn for the next chapters.

Through this learning,I have gain spiritual strength.

Recently,at the end of last year,I went through external forces that almost dimmed my faith.I became too weak spiritually,

quickly I thought of Axx class and how it brings peace to my heart.I got back to lessons and I feel

strong.

Lastly, through teachings of Axx I always have confidence to share the word of God at any place and in churches.I pray that may the Lord grand me strength, wisdom and knowledge

to persue my Axx training to the end and far beyond.

God bless Axx and God bless my teachers. Amen

Anthony Ruto Kiplimo
Avatar for Anthony Ruto Kiplimo
Verified

Am blessed

2023-01-13

I have learnt about the trinity of God and realized no difference between the 3

Thank axx am blessed.

R. K
Avatar for R. K
Verified

Play Course Preview Theology of Humanity

In this course, you’ll learn some of what the Bible has to say about humanity. Unpack topics like the “image of God”, God’s response to sin, the humanity of God, suffering and forgiveness, sexuality, women in ministry and the environment.

Curriculum Covered

  1. Course Description
  2. The Image of God
  3. A Broken & Damaged Image
  4. The Human Response to Sin
  5. God’s Response to Sin
  6. The Humanity of God
  7. God & Freedom
  8. Suffering & Forgiveness
  9. Unity
  10. Theology to Application
  11. Trinity & Family
  12. God & Sexuality
  13. God & Gendered Language
  14. Women in Ministry
  15. Church & Ethnicity
  16. Church & the Environment
  17. Trinity & the Poor

About your instructor

Jeremy Weetman 150 x 150 opt

Pastor Jeremy Weetman

Jeremy has been in pastoral ministry for over twenty years. He and his wife plated the church they lead on the Gold Coast (Australia), Eikon Community, in 2006 and transitioned the congregation into a missional expression of church. He has served on various denominational committees and has been teaching in bible colleges since 2011. He is studying towards his Doctor of Ministry and is interested in sacred space and contemporary spirituality.

Course Reviews

4.7
Rated 4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 21 reviews)
Excellent76%
Very good14%
Average10%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Good overview of the Biblical perspective of God & Humanity.

2021-07-01

This course has given me a clearer understanding of how much God loves us and the responsibility we have in return as His image bearers. The speakers spoke clearly, and I got a lot out of the topics discussed in this course.

LINNETTE DANIELS
Avatar for LINNETTE DANIELS
Verified

A different way

2021-06-21

So much of this study has highlighted completely different ways to look at things I thought I knew – from the basics to the more complicated. I feel very encouraged and found the talks easy to follow and interesting.

Thank you. Looking forward to the next section of learning.

Lianda Bacon
Avatar for Lianda Bacon
Verified

Theology of Humanity

2020-08-28

excellent

Barnabas Edohasim
Avatar for Barnabas Edohasim
Verified

Certificate of Bible and Theology Enrolment Options

Monthly Subscription

$AUD 30 / mo
  • 6 Specifically Designed Courses
  • Access with an active subscription
  • Life-changing Bible and Theology
  • 103 Lessons
Best Value

Upfront Payment

$AUD 225
  • 6 Specifically Designed Courses
  • Lifetime access to all resources
  • Life-changing Bible and Theology
  • 103 Lessons

Certificate of Bible and Theology Snapshot

  • 6 specifically designed courses
  • 103 lessons
  • 31 hours on-demand video
  • Certification
  • Full lifetime access
  • Access on computer, mobile devices and TV
  • All learning resources, handouts and E-library at no extra cost
  • Personalised Certified Certificate of Completion

Certificate of Bible and Theology Reviews

5.0
5 out of 5 stars (based on 12 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.

Certificate of Bible and Theology Requirements

  • Certificate of Bible and Theology qualification only requires a desire to learn about the introductory concepts of the Bible, and how I fit into the plans and purposes of God
  • This certificate only requires a desire to learn about the introductory concepts of the Theology (God), and who God is and why I exist
  • A love of God and the Word
  • Learners are welcome to commence this qualification at any time
  • A computer, tablet or smartphone is required
  • No additional software is required
  • Internet connection is required
  • Lessons are presented in English

All assessment tasks must be completed to be certified

  • Learners are required to complete all video lessons
  • Each lesson has a short multiple choice quiz
  • There are no essays to be written in this qualification
Scroll to Top

Did you Know?

  • There are 2,500,000 Untrained Pastors in the World Today. 
  • Every Axx Purchase and Donation is used to Provide Free Bible College Training for Pastors Living in Poverty or under Persecution.
  • Axx’s Mission is to Provide these Pastors with Free High-Quality Bible College.